Flashback – Trey Anastacio and Classic TAB, Feb. 19, 2010

Looking back at the February concerts that I have been fortunate enough to see, it was a tough choice to pick one to highlight. Do I go to the 80’s when I saw The Replacements, or the 90’s when I saw Dire Straits on their last tour(we will get to them). Then I came across the Trey Anastacio Band (TAB) show I saw at the Riviera in Chicago.

Not only was this one of the longest shows that I have seen, clocking in at over 3.5 hours and featuring 28 songs, it was one of the best. I went with a bunch of friends and we just had a great time and it appeared Trey was having a good time as well. There was such great energy in the room and Trey looked happy, maybe even revitalized.

By this time Phish had ended their hiatus, and Trey was successfully battling his own demons and I think for Trey that comes out in the music. That’s just what I think.

This is a show that I go back and listen to often. It is so great to be able to re-experience a show. I don’t know why most bands don’t release their live shows. Most jam bands do, Wilco does for some, Metallica does. It is so much fun listening to a show again. Maybe bands don’t do it because they think everything has to be perfect – it doesn’t, at least from a fan’s perspective.

TAB is a extremely tight band and the horns take it to 11, as Spinal Tap would say. Trey opened with Shine, which set the tone for the evening.

Push On Til the Day was jamtastic, perfect horns. Trey concluded the first set playing solo – acoustic on the final four songs: Brian and Robert, Driver, Sample In a Jar, and Wilson. Driver and Sample In a Jar are two of my favorite Phish songs.

The second set opened with Dragon Fly, I think at the time is was a new song, but the second song Night Speaks to Woman and then going into Sand took the roof off the place. I had no idea where he was going to take us next and a few songs later we take a journey on the Last Tube and TAB is really at their best, what a great groove. Then Jen Hartswick, the trumpet player and back up signer belts out Led Zeppelin’s Black Dog. WOW!

The encore Trey covered the Dire Straits song Sultans of Swing (who doesn’t love that song) and concluded the night with First Tube. What a great night!! Although it didn’t end as we made our mandatory stop at The Burrito Palace #2 on the way home. Thoroughly exhausted and satisfied!!

I am seeing Trey this April at the Chicago Theater – looking forward to a great time.

One comment

Leave a comment